The Radioactive Flamingo in the Room

IMG_5650.JPG2015 was a year of trial and error. I had finally decided to move beyond my nutrition and dietetics degree because it made me so unhappy. I decided I would start an Etsy shop and see where it went, since that was something I had dreamt of doing for many years. And thus, Radioactive Flamingo was born. If there is one thing I am proud of, it is the courage it took to open that shop, the time I put into it, and the hard work I pushed through for about 6 months. I did enjoy it because I wasn’t going school and was working part time at a museum. After seeing some success with my shop and how “happy” I was, I thought possibly a career in interior design would work for me. Creative freedom, decent pay, and a wide variety of jobs seemed a good fit for my personality. I looked into schools and was accepted to Winthrop University, 10 minutes from my mother in laws home in Rock Hill, South Carolina. Moving to the Carolinas had been on my mind since the first time I visited! It seemed meant to be…

IMG_4348

Until I went to orientation and was told I would need to attend another 4 years when I had already endured 89 credits at FIU. That would’ve cost me over $120,000 in loans. It really wasn’t meant to be. That trip was hard for me. I felt lost and hopeless. What would I do with my life? A degree was so important to me. I told myself I would finish with a degree in liberal arts and get my masters in interior architecture.

Was that even what I wanted? Did that truly make me happy?

During that trip, we visited Congaree National Park… Where I hiked 8 miles into the swamp and witnessed groups of hogs, Pileated Woodpeckers, every insect imaginable. I was in heaven. It was all beautiful. The fact that I could walk down the trail in the pouring rain and stay completely dry thanks to the thick canopy of cypress trees. The trail seemed never ending, even on our way back to the visitor center… But it was perfect. I felt alive.

 DSC_0270

Crowders Mountain was also on our list, a rock climbing area about 40 minutes from my mother in laws. This was one of the hardest trails I’ve ever walked and yet somehow I always trace back to it in my mind. My boyfriend was planning his FIRST (one more time… FIRST) camping trip with some friends to rock climb at this park. It occurred to me… I used to go camping… Big Cypress National Preserve, Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park, Peace River… Where did I get lost?

Now I was about to turn 25 years old and was about to pursue a career… A lifetime… In Decorating?!

689A4322 copy.png

No. I wouldn’t. I needed to feel alive. 2015 was a year of trial and error… Mixed with anxiety and depression… Mixed with low self esteem… Mixed with hatred of myself… But somehow in the forest, hiking through cypress swamps, kayaking in Key Largo, watching sea turtles catch a breath of air, taking photos of whatever insect, bird, snake, I could find… That is where I felt alive. A fire in myself that I had forgot even existed. That’s when I decided… For the 3rd time that I would not settle for a lifetime of anything but that fire within myself.

Welcome to Tasha Adventures.

 DSC_0222
Leave a Reply

